Browse the tabs below to find answers to Frequently Asked Questions.

Still have unanswered questions? Send us an email with your inquiry and a member of our team will respond to you within 24 hours. Contact us

Q: What is the difference between the CANIE Awards, the Startup Canada Awards, and the Ernest C. Manning Innovation Awards?

A: The Startup Canada Awards program has been celebrating excellence in entrepreneurship since 2014. The Ernest C. Manning Innovation Awards have recognized high-impact innovators from across every sector, since 1982. In the spring of 2019, these powerhouses joined forces to create a new and elevated program, the CANIE Awards. This comprehensive program that recognizes excellence in Canadian innovation and entrepreneurship while educating present and future generations of disruptors.

2020 is the inaugural year of the CANIE Awards—the Innovators and Entrepreneurs Foundation’s flagship program.

Q: What is the nomination timeline for the CANIE Awards?

A: The Nomination period was launched on February 1st, 2020 and ends on March 1st, 2020. Shortlisted applicants will be contacted by March 8th. Winners will be contacted shortly thereafter. Apply now. 

Q: What are the different Awards?

A: The CANIE Awards recognize and celebrate the three pillars that make possible the nation’s economic development through startups and SMEs:

  • The Entrepreneurship Award
  • The Innovation Award
  • The Enterprise Support Award
Q: Who is eligible to receive a CANIE Award?

A: Nominees and applicants must:

  • Be living Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
  • Demonstrate that they are active innovators or entrepreneurs.
  • Comply with the selected Award criteria.

Q: Can an applicant win multiple Awards?

A: No, a nominee or applicant will not be recognized for multiple Awards.

Q: Can I submit a project that has not yet been launched?

A: Yes, however the project must be at least in the pilot phase with proven and relevant market validation.

Q: Who can submit an application?

A: Applications can be submitted by individual candidates or organizations, by a third-party, or by a nominating partner.

Q: How are winners selected?

A: The Innovators & Entrepreneurs Foundation adjudication panel will audit and shortlist each application to verify that the Award-specific criteria has been met. Every question on the application form will be evaluated and scored on a scale from 1 to 10. Submissions with the highest scores will move into the final phase of adjudication to be reviewed by the Selection Committee.

National Awards – The Selection Committee members will examine the Regional Awards recipient profiles and after a rigorous review, will select up to five National Awards winners based on their exceptional impact on their fields and the society.

Q: How can I submit an application?

A: Nominations are closed since March 1st. 

Q: When and where will the regional and national ceremonies be held?

A: The 2020 CANIE Awards featured 5 regional award digital ceremonies last Spring.

The Grand Finale Digital Ceremony will take placeon October 20th. Register here!

Q: Will the information on my application be kept confidential?

A: Yes, your information, as well as any documentation sent through the application portal will be kept confidential. Only the Innovators & Entrepreneurs Foundation Adjudication Panel and the Selection Committee will have access to your application, both of whom are under a confidentiality agreement. 

Q: Who sits on the Adjudication Panel?

A: The Adjudication Panel is determined by the Innovators and Entrepreneurs Foundation and will include renowned community builders, past winners, and leading innovators and entrepreneurs from various industries and backgrounds across Canada.

Q: In which format may I attach additional documents to accompany my application?

A: Files including Word, PDF, PowerPoint, JPEG, PNG, and URL links. However please note that letters of support or resumes are not required.

You have Successfully Subscribed!